Fruit Cake Cookies

My dad loves these cookies that his mom made, and during the Fall and the holiday season he couldn’t go to the farm to visit her without bringing a container of these home (unless of course he was bringing home chocolate layer cake or caramel cake).  While looking through a few things in her kitchen after her funeral, I found the recipe.  This is exactly how it was written and I admit it’s not the most clear recipe (I think the fruit is the kind sold in the clear plastic containers in the bulk food section).  I’ll give it a try in the next week or so, and hopefully by Christmas I’ll be his designated fruit cake cookie supplier.         

Ingredients
1/2 pound butter
3 cups brown sugar
4 eggs
4 Tablespoons buttermilk
2 teaspoons soda
6 cups cake flour
1 Tablespoon allspice
1 teaspoon cloves
1 teaspoon mace
2 Tablespoons cinnamon
1 pound cherries, chopped
1 pound pineapple, chopped
2 pounds pecans, chopped
1 pound raisins, chopped

Instructions
Cream butter and sugar until light.  Add buttermilk and eggs.  Sift soda with 1/2 of flour.  Use some of this to flour fruit and add rest to mixture.  Pour this over nuts and fruit which have been floured.  Mix well and add spices to half of flour and add to mixture.  Drop by teaspoon on greased cookie sheet and bake in a slow oven until done.  Approx 300 degrees for 20 minutes.

1 Comment

  1. November 24, 2009 at 10:53 am

    […] dogs or a house full of dog hair–I’ll take that as a compliment. Then PL and I baked Fruitcake cookies for my dad, using my grandmother’s recipe. I’m not really patient enough to bake, and […]


Leave a Reply

